Skip to content
June 25, 2011 / marrowboy

Java Collections API

If you read Apprenticeship Patterns (and you should), you will be encouraged to use the source.

…one of the beliefs that can hold you back is the idea that the people who built the tools that you depend on are somehow different or special or better than you are. By reading their code you can learn to program like them, and more importantly, you can start to understand the thought processes that created the infrastructure that surrounds you.

I’m lucky to act as a mentor for someone who shares my interest in algorithms and datastructures, so we picked the Java Collections API source to look through. It ain’t all pretty by any means, but there’s a lot of cool stuff to learn. I’ve made some notes.

Here’s the notes I made:

That pic is pretty large, but I love mind maps. I like FreeMind a lot. You can download this as a FreeMind map from my github.

Leave a Reply

